Setting us Wiim on an existing network with a headless server and ripped CD files

mjm6

Hi folks,

I have been using a Sonos system since about 2007 and while I have been happy with the setup, I feel it is probably time to replace all the audio parts as they are getting long in the tooth (I've had a few Sonos pieces fail on me in the past few years).

My current setup has a headless Mac Mini server that provides me with my files (for audio and other on-media needs) and on that, I have hard drives connected that are managed through the Mac Mini (some are set up in a RAID array). I do not have a NAS in the system.

With the Sonos, I am able to connect through the server to the music file location and the Sonos wil do the cataloging and manage the access to the files. That isn't a perfect approach, but it does work well and since I am more of an album listener, that approch is sufficient overall.

I also stream a local radio station and Pandora through the Sonos a lot. When doing this, we almost always are using it in multi-room mode with the synched audio.

What I and my wife like about the Sonos approach is that it is pretty simple and it has all of this in one location (Sonos app) so she doesn't need to fiddle with multiple devices or apps to get what she wants, and we have the audio synched across multiple sources so there isn't strange audio lag happening from room to room.

I'm trying to figure out if the Wiim devices basically allow us to do these several things, and what I would need to get this to work.

• Stream from Pandora and TuneIn FROM WITHIN THE WIIM APP (((I think this is possible... as I said, I want to only have a single app interface)))
  • Stream files on the local server (FLAC files, some high definition files) (((this appears possible, but I need advice on what server software I need on the Mac Mini)))
  • Stream in multi-room mode so that you don't hear mis-aligned audio in other places or when going from one room to the next.