Spotify for dummies

Hollywood

Major Contributor
Please excuse my very basic questions...
I have been using my WiiMs playing music from my "server", a USB SSD with all of me CDs ripped to FLAC files. It is working well and I am happy.

I am now looking into a streaming service. I have a few questions, but I just want simple answers without getting too technical. I am completely new at this.

I just got a free account for Spotify. It seems pretty cool! I started my WiiM Android app and when I pressed the Spotify icon it prompted me to download and install the Spotify app. My questions are:

Other then launching the app, do you even need the WiiM app to use Spotify through your WiiM devices?

Just like the WiiM playing music from my server, is the music is directly sent to the WiiM from Spotify, not through the phone?

On the "free" subscription, what is the sound quality? CD or less?

What quality can you get from a Spotify subscription?

Some of the service's websites are hard to tell what they are, browse, or see how much they cost. Are there any better services for selection, quality, or app user experience for about $10/month that you recommend?

This seems like another I wish I would have known about this sooner.

Thanks!

Other then launching the app, do you even need the WiiM app to use Spotify through your WiiM devices?
No.
Just like the WiiM playing music from my server, is the music is directly sent to the WiiM from Spotify, not through the phone?
Directly from Spotify.

What quality can you get from a Spotify subscription?
Lossy Ogg Vorbis 320 kbps max.

Some of the service's websites are hard to tell what they are, browse, or see how much they cost. Are there any better services for selection, quality, or app user experience for about $10/month that you recommend?
I think it will depend on subscription prices in your country. Amazon Music is usually quite cheap and can deliver lossless hi-res quality.

No.

Directly from Spotify.