I can't get Wiim Pro to work with S.M.S.L. m300SE

bsacco335

Please HELP a NEWBIE here .... I'm really struggling to get the Wiim Pro and S.M.S.L .to work together/ at all.

Here's my setup.

Incoming WIFi signal (Amazon Music) to Wiim Pro which then hands off signal to my vintage 70s Receiver/Amp for amplification.

I bought a S.M.S.L M300SE because someone told me that the DAC in it was better than the Wiim Pro.

So, now I recieived the S.M.SL. unit but I can't get it to work with the Wiim Pro.

Please advise on how to set up the signal chain because I'm really confused!

I need Step-by-step instructions because I'm a newbie.

Thx, bob

Please HELP a NEWBIE here .... I'm really struggling to get the Wiim Pro and S.M.S.L .to work together/ at all.

Here's my setup.

Incoming WIFi signal (Amazon Music) to Wiim Pro which then hands off signal to my vintage 70s Receiver/Amp for amplification.

I bought a S.M.S.L M300SE because someone told me that the DAC in it was better than the Wiim Pro.

So, now I recieived the S.M.SL. unit but I can't get it to work with the Wiim Pro.

Thx, bob
Obviously previous attempts to assist you with this have failed somehow!
Perhaps tell us what you have tried?

However, I'll try again...

Assuming you are using an optical connection:
The pro came with an optical cable.
Take the little plastic covers off each end.
Put one end into the Optical OUT port on the pro. There are two optical ports, make sure it's not the IN one!
They can sometimes be a little tricky to plug in correctly. They only go in one way, so try turning 90 degrees at a time and pushing gently-ish. It should click into place.
The other end goes into the optical IN of the smsl. Same procedure.
Ensure the wiim is set to optical out.
Ensure the smsl is set to use the optical in.

If you are using a coax connection then go from the coax out on the pro to the coax in on the smsl.
You'd be using your own cable for this - the pro does not come with one of these.