Pro Plus direct into amplifier and not using a pre-amp at all

macsmith777

Is there a reason this would not work, or is not advisable? I won't be doing anything other than streaming, so why would I just not go straight to the amplifier if the volume can be controlled within the WiiM app? Is there a degradation of signal quality using the volume control on the Pro Plus?

Sorry if this is a foolish question, I'm still learning.

Is there a reason this would not work, or is not advisable? I won't be doing anything other than streaming, so why would I just not go straight to the amplifier if the volume can be controlled within the WiiM app? Is there a degradation of signal quality using the volume control on the Pro Plus?

Sorry if this is a foolish question, I'm still learning.
Yes, using the volume control will degrade the signal. But in reality, I don't think you can hear the difference.

If you want to get a bit perfect, turn on the fixed volume of the audio output and turn off the EQ.

Yes, using the volume control will degrade the signal. But in reality, I don't think you can hear the difference.

If you want to get a bit perfect, turn on the fixed volume of the audio output and turn off the EQ.
So if that is the case, and I can't really tell the difference, I could just run the a/v analog out straight to an amp (Schiit Vidar 2)? I can always add a preamp if this is not doing it for me sound wise.

Yes. However, if you connect the analog output directly to the power amplifier, pay attention to the output level. Start by setting "Line out revel" to 500mV in the audio settings section of the Wiim app. Then turn off the fixed volume and test from low volume.

As you say, you can add preamps and DACs later.

For your information.
This is the relationship between the Line out revel and SINAD in WIIM pro plus.

2 Vrms - SINAD 111.7
1 Vrms - SINAD 109.4
0.8 Vrms - SINAD 107.6
0.5 Vrms - SINAD 103.8

Quoted from the measurement of @onlyoneme.