WiiM Amp Airplay and Denon HEOS Sonos Apps

Tommyboy

I’m new to streaming other than from my iPhone to my Wiim Mini. I’m currently using Tidal Connect to my Mini. I would like to purchase a WiiM Amp and use it in my office with passive speakers next to the amp and add multiroom functionality as easily as possible. I have my Mini connected to a 1980s analog amp in the living room. For other rooms Airplay seems to make the most sense. My question: I’m looking at the Sonos Roam and the Denon Home 150. Can I use Airplay and not have to deal with the Sonos or HEOS apps at all when using a Sonos or Denon speaker? Thanks!

The Sonos Roam and Denon Home 150 both appear to be Airplay 2 compatible so while you could Airplay cast to them and the Mini from the WiiM Amp, you couldn’t be using the Amp’s speakers at the same time as it only supports one audio output interface at a time.

The Sonos Roam and Denon Home 150 both appear to be Airplay 2 compatible so while you could Airplay cast to them and the Mini from the WiiM Amp, you couldn’t be using the Amp’s speakers at the same time as it only supports one audio output interface at a time.
I see. If I went with Airplay capable speakers in the office near the Amp then I could cast to all of them at the same time, correct? Thank you.

Yeah, that should be ok. It’s just a pity that in a situation like that the amp is relegated to just being a transmitter. Another option would be to use a WiiM Pro as the transmitter which could then airplay cast to the Amp, Mini, Sonos and Denon. Note however that transmission is limited to 16/48 and there may be issues with syncing which shouldn’t be an audible issue if none of the speakers are within earshot of another.