Arcam A25 + WiiM pro

ralas

Hey everyone,

Sorry if this is a silly question I'm very new to the hifi world.

I have an arcam A25 and up until recently i used the usbc connection with my phone to play hi res music from tidal. When doing so, on the display it shows PCM and the kHz.

But recently i purchased a WiiM pro and have connected it via coax and still using tidal but now PCM is no longer showing on the display, just the varying kHz.

Am i doing something wrong? or do i have my wires crossed (pun intended) with how this all works?

Cheers

Which app is displaying what when? I’m a little confused ;)
Sorry should have clarified, on my amps display it shows pcm and kHz while phone is connected via usbc. But the display only shows kHz when using Wiim pro via coax. Both instances using tidal.

Thanks. That would suggest that your phone is using its internal DAC and converting the digital stream to PCM before sending it out over usb, while the WiiM is sending the digital stream over its coax and passing the job of digital to analogue conversion to your Arcam.

Thanks. That would suggest that your phone is using its internal DAC and converting the digital stream to PCM before sending it out over usb, while the WiiM is sending the digital stream over its coax and passing the job of digital to analogue conversion to your Arcam.
Ah i see, thanks for explaining that. So the other potentially silly question is am i getting lesser sound quality using the WiiM via coax?

Ah i see, thanks for explaining that. So the other potentially silly question is am i getting lesser sound quality using the WiiM via coax?
The WiiM devices are “bit perfect” in that whatever they receive is passed on without any unwanted change so no information is lost. The “sound” part comes later when your Arcam converts it from digital to analogue (hence DAC - digital to analogue convertor) to send the audio to your speakers.