Connection to amplifier and DAC

Popmaster109

Hello, I'm new to streaming and I would like help with connecting the wiim pro to my amplifier and output to my external DAC,

At present I have the pro connected with RCA line output to my pre-amp and a Optical to my DAC and have NO sound, In the app I click on Optical line output and NO sound when I click on line output sound?

So what I need to know is how do I connect the pro to my pre-amp and then output the pro to my external DAC? To get better sound quality,

Many thanks

Do your pre has an internal DAC? If yes and you want to use it connect the WiiM via optical (or coax) to the pre-amp and choose the output in WiiM app. Then of course the pre to the power amp.
If the pre has analog in only connect the WiiM to your external dac via opt or coax, chose this output in the WiiM app and connect your pre-amp via RCA to your amp.

Last edited:
Do your pre has an internal DAC? If yes and you want to use it connect the WiiM via optical (or coax) to the pre-amp and choose the output in WiiM app.
If the pre has analog in only connect the WiiM to your external dac via opt or coax, chose this output in the WiiM app and connect your pre-amp via RCA
Hi many thanks for your quick reply, I should have made thing a bit clearer my DAC is separate from my pre-amp, so yes my pre-amp is analogue only, so I was connecting the RCA cables from the Pro line output to my pre-amp and than the optical cable from the Pro output into the External DOC'S input

I can not imaging that works or bring good results.

WiiM opt. > DAC analog out via RCA > Preamp analog out > Power Amp
In the WiiM app you can chose only one output, in your case Line out OR opt/coax
Your way, if I understand it correct, will result in something like a short circuit. The digital to analog conversion is done in one component only. Either internal in the WiiM or external in the DAC. In your case the WiiM will send analog signal to your DAC which the DAC can not read.