WiiM Pro vs Chromecast for multiroom

Melkiades

Hi all,

I'm new to WiiM so this question might be plain wrong but here goes:

- I'm setting up a 3 zone multiroom setup
- I bought one amp per zone
- and will connect one WiiM Pro per amp

What will this setup give me more than if I had connected one Chromecast (the new ones with the remote) to each amp?

Chromecast is super compatible. iPhones and Android can cast music to them. You can also setup rooms and send synched music to any or all zones. A Chromecast setup would cost much less.

What am I missing?

Pros also do chromecast, but possibly depends partly on what/how you intend to play this way.
What music service do you intend to use?
Is gapless playback irrelevant or important to you?
Pros can send to any/all rooms, but, atm at least, you can't pre-create groups to make it that bit easier.

Chromecast output is only hdmi, right?

Last edited:
Pros also do chromecast, but possibly depends partly on what/how you intend to play this way.
What music service do you intend to use?
Is gapless playback irrelevant or important to you?
Pros can send to any/all rooms, but, atm at least, you can't pre-create groups to make it that bit easier.

Chromecast output is only hdmi, right?
I use YouTube Premium and Spotify.
With YTP I could work with only Chromecast TV units connected to 3 amp's HDMI inputs. I'm not sure what gapless playback means exactly.

I'm surprised to realize that WiiM doesn't make it easy to pre configure room combinations. I envision a visual interface where you see all of your rooms and enable/disable the ones you wish. If you have to create groups on-the-fly each time, this is going to be an annoyance to use. I'm not sure this is easier with a Chromecast TV (used for audio) only setup.

I heard that the WiiM team listed a lot to user requests. I'll try to find a forum section for requests.

Cheers