Basic question from a beginner

Yanto

Major Contributor
Thanks for letting me join. I have a couple of very basic questions if possible. Please bear with me as I’m new to this.
1. If I connect a Wiim Pro to a coax port on my Audiolab 6000a amp, which DAC will I actually be using, the Wiim or the Audiolab? Not sure which is the better one.
2. Can I just confirm that the Wiim supports Apple Music Lossless/Airplay 2 please?
3. Also confirm that gapless playback is supported by the Wiim please?
Thanks advance for your help

1. Your amp is so good that it will make no difference. Its analog part will make a tiny, if any, difference obsolete. Chose what makes you feel better. The internal of the Pro is better than the often written off hearsay. Importance of DACs on that level is overestimated. As always my subjective opinions. There are different ones, I know 😉.
2, no idea, others who uses it will give you informations.
3. yes

Welcome and have fun!

1. Your amp is so good that it will make no difference. Its analog part will make a tiny, if any, difference obsolete. Chose what makes you feel better. The internal of the Pro is better than the often written off hearsay. Importance of DACs on that level is overestimated. As always my subjective opinions. There are different ones, I know 😉.
2, no idea, others who uses it will give you informations.
3. yes

Welcome and have fun!
Many thanks for the reply. I’d like to use my Apple Music account but it’s not the end of the world if it won’t work. I have Tidal too
Glad it supports gapless.

As always my subjective opinions
Indeed. Doesn't mean you are right though ;)

I do agree with Achim one one point - try them both, and use whichever you prefer (coax to amp using amp's dac, or pro's analog out to amp using pro's dac).
It is, after all, you doing the listening, not us.

re. Apple and airplay 2 - I don't use them either, but it is advertised as an airplay 2 device (receiver).